Check out the State and Federal updates for July 2019
IRS – IRS has released draft instructions for the 2020 Income Tax Withholding. Form W-4 and also FAQ’s on their website.
Employers failing to pay State child support will now be fined up to $250.
Governor signed a bill to prevent and inforce wage-theft, effective August 1, 2019. The new requirement includes adding the company’s name and full address and telephone number to the employee pay statement
Washington: Garnishments for consumer debt has been changed to exempt the greater of 35 times the states hourly minimum wage or 80% of disposable earnings. This is effective July 28, 2019. The amount allowable to be paid to the survivor of a deceased employee prior to probate increases to $10,000 effective 7/28/2019.
Beginning 8/27/2019 garnishments may be sent to employers by certified mail with return receipt requested. The date of receipt of the order will determine the effective date of the garnishment.
Employers are required to pay all wages due any employee that has been discharged by the next regular payday. This becomes effective 7/23/2019. Failure to pay the employee more than 7 days past the next pay will owe the employee 2 times the amount of wages. NOTE: Railroad employers no longer have separate requirements for employee dismissal.
Effective July 1, 2019 all employers regardless of size are required to report unclaimed wages electronically.
New York :
Effective July 1, 2019 the Waterfront Commission of New York Harbor assessment rate is reduced to 1.80%